No events to show.

Kalamazoo College's Men's Tennis "Streak"

The Streak  |  The Coaches  |  The Players  |  The Facilities

The Streak

The Conference Championship Streak

  • Kalamazoo College won 74 consecutive conference championships in the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) from 1936 through 2012. The MIAA was founded in 1888 and is the oldest collegiate athletic conference in the nation.
  • The string of championships began in 1936. Kalamazoo won the title outright every year except for three seasons (1944-46) during World War II when no competition was held, and in 1962 and 2003 when the Hornets shared the championship with Hope College.
  • The 74-year streak is the longest known conference championship streak in any sport at any level in the world.


The NCAA III Tournament Streak

  • Kalamazoo is the only school to have participated in each of the first 42 NCAA Division III national tournaments (1976 through 2017).


National Prominence

  • Kalamazoo has won seven NCAA III national championships in men's tennis, tied with UC-Santa Cruz for the most in NCAA III history. The Hornets have also finished runner-up three times and have finished in third place on nine occasions.
  • Kalamazoo won three consecutive national championships from 1991-93. The 1993 title, the most recent of the seven, was earned on Kalamazoo College's campus.
  • Kalamazoo won the inaugural NCAA III Men's Tennis national championship in 1976 with an 18-15 victory over Claremont-Mudd-Scripps. (Prior to 1986, the national champion was determined by total matches won in individual singles and doubles play.)  


1991 Kalamazoo College Men's Tennis Team
1991 National Champions

1978 Kalamazoo College Men's Tennis Team
1978 National Champions

1993 Kalamazoo College Men's Tennis Team celebrating
1993 National Champions