No events to show.

Kalamazoo College's Men's Tennis "Streak"

The Streak  |  The Coaches  |  The Players  |  The Facilities 

The Players

*Listed below are the Kalamazoo College Men's Tennis program players who have won an individual national championship or earned the MIAA MVP Award two times in a career. For more information on award winners, please visit the links below.*

National Award Winners  |   MIAA Award Winners

Will Washburn ‘73 - Washburn was the first Hornet to win consecutive MIAA MVP Awards. 

Chris Bussert ‘78 - A native of Munster, Ind., Bussert was national champion in singles in his senior year, and he and partner Jim Hosner won the national doubles championship. Kalamazoo won the national team championship in his sophomore and senior years. Bussert was Kalamazoo’s first tennis player and third athlete overall to win a coveted NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship.

Jim Hosner - '78 - Hosner partnered with Chris Bussert to win the national doubles championship in 1978. Hosner was a member of Kalamazoo's first two national championship teams in 1976 and 1978.

Chris Burns ‘82 - Burns won the national singles championship as a sophomore in 1980. He also won an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship and went on to earn a law degree.

Timon Corwin ‘86 - A native of Milwaukee, Wis., Corwin played first singles and first doubles all four years at Kalamazoo. As a senior, he won the national singles championship while he partnered with Jack Hosner to finish second in doubles.

Alex Palladino ‘87 and Jim Burda ‘87 - One of the best doubles teams in the history of the College. Palladino and Burda won the national doubles championship in both 1986 and 1987.

Lewis Miller ‘93 - One of two players in NCAA Division III history to win back-to-back national singles championships, taking the honors in 1991 and 1992. He is also the only Hornet player ever to be named MIAA MVP three times. Miller was named Academic All-American Athlete of the Year (College Division At-Large) in 1992 and 1993. He was Kalamazoo’s 12th student-athlete to earn an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship. Miller's singles record at Kalamazoo was an astounding 121-10.

Seth Denawetz ‘95 - Became Kalamazoo’s sixth NCAA Division III singles champion in 1994.

Dan Harding ‘00 - Dan is the fifth player in Kalamazoo College history to be named MIAA MVP twice in a career. He earned All-America honors once in singles and three times in doubles. He captured the No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles championships in the MIAA in 1999 and 2000.

Kyle Harding ‘02 - Kyle is the younger brother of Dan Harding. Kyle won the No. 1 singles MIAA championship in 2001 after winning the No. 2 singles championship the previous two seasons. He has won the No. 1 doubles championship during each of his three seasons. He was a four-time All-MIAA first team selection, and has earned All-America honors all four years at K. In addition, Harding earned a spot on the CoSIDA Academic All-American second team in 2002.

Michael Malvitz '05 - Michael won consecutive MIAA MVP awards in 2004 and 2005. Michael tallied 62 career singles victories and 76 career doubles victories.

Nate Eddy '12 - Nate won consecutive MIAA MVP awards in 2011 and 2012. Nate won 51 career singles matches and 57 career doubles matches.

Branden Metzler '17 - Branden won MIAA MVP awards all four seasons (2014, 2015, 2016, 2017) and won 89 career singles matches and 66 career doubles matches. Branden advanced to the championship match of the NCAA III Singles Tournament in Kalamazoo in 2016 and was a semifinalist at the 2017 national tournament. 

Chris Bussert
 Chris Bussert (1975-78)

Lewis Miller
Lewis Miller (1990-93)

Seth Denawetz
Seth Denawetz (1991-94)