No events to show.

Seven Football Players Honored by National Football Foundation

The Kalamazoo College football team in a huddle.
Photo by Kimberly Moss

Seven Kalamazoo College football players were recognized as members of the 2020 National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society.

Hunter Angileri, Cam Crothers, Anthony Giovanni, Jaylin Jones, Greg Kearns, Sam Matthews, and Jake Sypniewski were honored this year. The seven seniors were an integral part of Kalamazoo College's football program the past four years.

The Hampshire Honor Society recognizes college football players from all divisions who maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers, completed their final year of playing eligibility in 2019, were starters or significant contributors throughout the 2019 season and met all NCAA- or NAIA-mandated progress toward degree requirements.

"I'm proud of this group's accomplishments on and off of the field," said Kalamazoo Head Coach Jamie Zorbo. "They have embodied every aspect of being a Hornet football player during their four years."

Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies, provided the endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. He made the contribution as part of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF Chairman from 1994-2006. He currently serves the organization as the chairman emeritus. Each player awarded with membership in this year's Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating their achievement.