No events to show.

2019 Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees

Hall of Fame wall.

Four individuals and four teams will be inducted into the Kalamazoo College Athletic Hall of Fame as part of the Alumni Association Awards ceremony on Friday, Oct. 18, 2019.

This year's individual inductees are Harold Decker '67 (football, basketball, baseball), Billee Lightvoet Ward '94 (tennis), Adam Norlander '97 (tennis), and Susan Stuckey Thoms '70 (swimming). 

Individual Inductees

Harold Decker '67 - Football, Basketball, Baseball

Varsity letter winner in three sports: Football (3), Basketball (2) and Baseball (2); Team leader in innings pitched and strikeouts of opposing batters (1964); Played for the Ionia Chevy’s of the Midwest Summer League in Grand Rapids and Gilmore Cadillac in the Kalamazoo City League; summer of 1965, led the league in home runs; Three-year member of the football team – offensive tackle, defensive end, and kicker; Invited to pre-draft workouts by National Football League (Spring 1967); Drafted by the Houston Oilers (now the Tennessee Titans) in the 11th round of the NFL draft; Held the honor of being the only player in the history of Kalamazoo College to be drafted by an NFL team; Remained the last MIAA football player to be drafted by an NFL team for the next 45 years; Trained with the Oilers; was cut from the Oilers due to draft order into the U.S. Army.


Billee Lightvoet Ward '94 - Tennis

NCAA Division III Second Place Finish in #1 Doubles (1994); Academic All-American (1994); All-American in doubles (1994); MIAA Champion in #1 Doubles (1991-1994); MIAA Champion in #2 Singles (1991-1994); All-MIAA (1991-1994); Held the honor to be one of eight K women’s tennis players to be selected All-MIAA First Team at least three times (at the time in 1994 was the third K player to receive this recognition; Tied for school record with 22 doubles wins in a season (1994); Second-best doubles record in a season 21-2 (1993); 23rd in school history with 39 career singles wins (5th in school history at the time in 1994); 8th in school history with 60 career doubles wins (2nd at the time in 1994); 2nd in school history with a 60-13 career doubles record; Overall collegiate match record of 69-14 in singles; Overall collegiate match record of 64-19 in doubles; All-MIAA first-team honors (2002-2005); MIAA Most Valuable (2002, 2003); NCAA All-American in singles (2002, 2003); Regional Rookie of the Year (2002); GTE/CoSIDA Academic All-American (3rd team) (2005).


Adam Norlander '97 - Tennis

Team captain (1996 and 1997); ITA National Player to Watch Award (1996); ITA Regional Player to Watch Award (1996); NCAA Division III All-American in singles (1996 and 1997); All-MIAA First Team (1996 and 1997); MIAA MVP (1996); MIAA #1 Singles Champion (1996); MIAA #2 Singles Champion (1997); Member of MIAA Championship Team (1995, 1996, and 1997); Member of NCAA Division III Third Place Team (1995 and 1996); Member of NCAA Division III Second Place Team (1997); Division III Fall ITA Regional Singles and Doubles Champion (1996); Division III Fall ITA National Singles Champion (1996); NCAA Division III Tournament Singles Semifinalist (1997).


Susan Stuckey Thoms '70 - Swimming

Pioneer of Women’s Swimming at Kalamazoo College; High School State Record for 50-Yard Freestyle; High School State Record for 100-Yard Freestyle; High School State Record for 200-Yard Freestyle; Junior National Title Holder; Qualifier for the 1964 Olympic Trials in 100-Yard Freestyle; Played Field Hockey and Basketball at K; First Lifeguard at the K Pool; State Meet 100 I.M. Champion (1970); State Meet 50-Yard Freestyle – Placed in Top Three; State Meet 100-Yard Freestyle – Placed in Top Three; Mary Long Burch Award Recipient (1970).


Team Inductees

1990 Volleyball Team
MIAA Champions

Team Members: Rochelle (Cibor) Cameron, Jill (Thompson) Chappell, Barbie (Oelslager) Hoag, Mei (Zhang) Juknelis, Karen (Willms) Murray, Kelly O’Reilly, Gretchen (Crumbaugh) Pratt, Deanna Rieden-Carson, Susan Ringler Cerniglia, Amy Schmidt-Stanek, Jennifer (Duff) Stroble, Amy (Dumanois) Walker, Head Coach Jeanne Hess, and Assistant Coach Anne Harrison.


1994 Women's Tennis Team
MIAA Champions and NCAA III Ninth Place

Team Members: Christa Chrovian, Stephanie Decker, Kim Dornbrook-Lavender, Alison Frye, Eve Halderson, Sara (Frier) Kelly, Billee Lightvoet Ward, Stephanie (Smith) Stiles, Jackie (Aurelia) Taylor, Jenifer (Holmes) Ullery, Betsy (Hobbs) Wagner, and Head Coach Yvonne Hackenberg.


1997 Men's Tennis Team
MIAA Champions and NCAA III Second Place

Team Members: John Atkins, John Aurelia, Matthew Berger, Jeremy Cox, Ryan Cummings, Kant Desai, Jeff Ewing, Rich Gasiorski, Dan Harding, Patrick Hurford, Mike Ivy, Chris Kennelly, Kevin Mertz, Ravi Mujumdar, Steve Nasson, Adam Norlander, Patrick Noud, Brett Orr, RJ Rant, John Scribner, Zach Tann, Brian Untch, Robert Urban, Head Coach Timon Corwin, and Assistant Coach Ryan Kaltenbach.


1999 Men's Tennis Team
MIAA Champions and NCAA III Second Place

Team Members: Brian Cox, Jeremy Cox, Ryan Cummings, Tobin Ernst, Jeff Ewing, Brian Foley, Dan Harding, Kyle Harding, Brian Hornburg, Jeff Keen, Andrew Minnelli, Casey Molenaar, Bob Pennington, Rod Rahimi, Ryan Shockley, John Thomas, Jeffrey Wolford, Head Coach Timon Corwin and Assistant Coach John Sih.


For more information on past inductees, please visit the Kalamazoo College Athletic Hall of Fame web pages.