No events to show.

2018 Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees

Hall of Fame wall.

Four individuals and three teams will be inducted into the Kalamazoo College Athletic Hall of Fame as part of the Alumni Association Awards ceremony on Friday, Oct. 19, 2018.

This year's individual inductees are Kristyn Buhl-Lepisto '04 (golf), Meaghan Clark McGuire '05 (tennis), Eric Gerwin '00 (football) and Scott Whitbeck '04 (swimming).  Elizabeth Garlow '07 (swimming), Kim Hartman '03 (soccer), Judsen Schneider '03 (swimming) and Nick Lachapelle '00 (football). The men's tennis teams from 1955, 1980 and 1981 are also being inducted.

Individual Inductees

Kristyn Buhl-Lepisto '04 - Golf

All-MIAA First Team (2000, 2001, and 2004); MIAA Conference Champion (2004); Holds school record for best average in a season 86.9 (2004); Holds top two places for best MIAA average in a season (2004); Holds best career average overall (88.7) and MIAA (88.6); Hornet MVP (2000, 2001, and 2004); Team Captain (2000, 2001, and 2004)


Meaghan Clark McGuire '05 - Tennis

Overall collegiate match record of 69-14 in singles; Overall collegiate match record of 64-19 in doubles; All-MIAA first-team honors (2002-2005); MIAA Most Valuable (2002, 2003); NCAA All-American in singles (2002, 2003); Regional Rookie of the Year (2002); GTE/CoSIDA Academic All-American (3rd team) (2005)


Eric Gerwin '00 - Football

All-MIAA Honorable Mention (1997); All-MIAA First Team (1998, 1999); Kalamazoo College Most Valuable Defensive Player (1998); MIAA Defensive MVP (1999); 4th Team All-American (1999); Honorable Mention All-American (1999); Team Captain (1999); Kalamazoo College MVP (1999); Four-year Letter Winner; Member of the 1999 Team allowing 2nd fewest rushing yards and 2nd fewest points allowed; 3rd in Career Tackles – 10 Career Sacks; Ron Holland Division III Scholar/Athlete Award (1999) (National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, Inc. – Michigan Chapter)


Scott Whitbeck '04 - Swimming

Seven-time MIAA champion (6 individual, 1 relay); Twelve-time NCAA All American (4-time First Team, 8-time Honorable Mention); Team Captain (2003-04); Team MVP (2003-04); C. W. Opie Davis Award (2004); Charles J. Monroe Economic Department Award (2003); NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient (2004); Held school records for the 1,000 and 1,650 freestyle races and for the 800 freestyle relay (upon graduation); Four consecutive seasons MIAA champion in the 1,650 freestyle; Four-Year MIAA Champion in 1650 Freestyle; Four-Year All-MIAA Selection


Team Inductees

1955 Men's Tennis Team
MIAA Champions

Team Members: Mike Beal, Robert Casler, Jurgen Diekmann, Leslie Dodson, James Fowler, David Moran, Richard Newberg, Dean Pinchoff, Rodger Sautter, Thomas Smith, Donald Stowe, Thomas Wylie, Robert Yuell, and Coach Allen B. Stowe.


1980 Men's Tennis Team
MIAA Champions and NCAA III Third Place

Team Members: Pete Ballantine, Dan Baxley, Barry Bedford, Chris Burns, Dave Cafmeyer, Kevin Greene, Steve Heidenreich, David Higdon, John Hosner, Jeff Hsi, Randy Jacobs, Ven Johnson, Tim Klitch, John Mansueto, Brian Monfils, Mark Riley, Paul Showers, George Seifert, Eric Trautmann, Bill Vanderhoef, Chris Yates, and Coach George Acker.


1981 Men's Tennis Team
MIAA Champions and NCAA III Third Place

Team Members: Peter Ballentine, Chris Burns, David Cafmeyer, Kevin Green, David Higdon, Joe Hosner, Jeff Hsi, Randy Jacobs, Kevin Johnson, Ven Johnson, Scott Morgan, Steve Pelak, Mark Riley, Eric Trautmann, Bill Vanderhoef, Joseph Webster, Chris Yates, and Coach George Acker.


For more information on past inductees, please visit the Kalamazoo College Athletic Hall of Fame web pages.